The Only Way to Know God

If one would know God, he must penetrate deeply into his own nature, for here alone can he find Him. If he would reveal God to his fellowmen, he must do so by living such a God-like life, that the Divine Essence flows through him to others. The only way to know God is to be like Him; and while this may seem discouraging in our present state of evolution, we should remember that we have but started on an eternal ladder which ever spirals upward.

The Science of Mind, Ernest Holmes 443.4

What I find so fascinating about this is that the emphasis is not on being perfect, it is on being. It is not about being right, it is about doing right things, right actions–like showing kindness and compassion, patience and understanding. It is about being generous and well-meaning, then extending the benefit of doubt.

So I am thinking that to invoke Spirit one need only show kindness.

Kindness.

Could it be that simple?

It is not this Herculean task/effort that requires one to conjure lightning bolts from the sky–albeit the outcome may be as poignant. Rather it is as near to us as breath, as joyous as the laughter of a child, as heart-filled as if it came from Spirit itself.

I suspect too, that this holds the key to why I believe all people are inherently good. Because each one of us has within the ability to show kindness and therefore demonstrate our God-like life. Which is how the Divine may be everywhere present–for wherever people are there is an expression of Spirit who is inherently able to invoke God by just the simplest act of being kind.

And so it is.

3 Comments

  1. Erica said,

    29 August 2010 at 8:25 AM

    Hi there!

    Do I understand you correctly, “all people are inherently good”? It would follow then, Charlie Manson is inherently good. Unfortunately, he’s made it pretty darn clear he is not.

    There is a difference between “believe” and “know”, yes? I’ve noticed those who say they believe, or have a belief in ‘something’, become highly agitated when you ask them even just a few questions about it or why they believe. Yet ask someone who knows Truth, any amount of questions, they are unflappable. Have you experienced that sort of thing?

    This is a wonderful blog; you share beautifully, as if I were reading a letter from a very good friend. The photographs are gorgeous.

    Take good care…

    • Umojajoy said,

      8 September 2010 at 8:12 AM

      Thank you for your thoughts!

      Yes, you understand me about the “all people are inherently good.” The challenge is they don’t always do good. And maybe this is just one of those things I want to hang on to. I will ponder it further and share more on this subject.

      As for the “believe” and “know,” I had not paid attention to how they show up differently. I will be on alert for that now. Thanks for that added perspective.

      In joy.

  2. Erica said,

    24 December 2010 at 3:53 AM

    I wanted to clarify, or at least try to. I don’t share your ease with words, so try to bare or bear with me.

    It is as simple as being kind; kind to yourself and to others. Having lived a bit more life than you, although I could be mistaken about that, my experiential living has not borne out that “all” humans are inherently good. Do you recall how you came to believe that? And who determines what is right living, right thinking, what’s wrong with left thinking or living? I can understand why you would want to hold onto that belief; I held onto it for as long as I could.

    Unlike a computer program, earthlings are not ‘hard-wired’ although people use that term. And I may be mistaken about earthlings not being that way. I know I am not ‘hard-wired’ in any particular way, but then again, I could be mistaken about that too, since I do not know experientially how my brain or why my brain works the way it does.

    From my vantage point, all I can say for certain is, I am good. There are no doubt people who would disagree with me, for a variety of reasons, none of which would be valid as far as I’m concerned. The only being or non-being who can determine our goodness, is ourself, because what may be ‘right’ living for me, very likely would not be ‘right’ living for you.

    That helped me, and maybe it will be worthwhile for you to, to ponder, if nothing else.

    You were unaware of the difference between believing and knowing? That is interesting. Certainly if you were to stub your toe, would you believe or know, it had occurred?


Leave a comment